Shouts vs Status

Discussion in 'Site Suggestions' started by djfly, Feb 11, 2016.

  1. djfly

    djfly Smiter of Spam

    Blogs:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Posts:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    859
    If I put a "shout" on my profile like a status message, it gets overriden if I shout something. Is there a way to differentiate between statuses and shouts?
     
  2. djfly

    djfly Smiter of Spam

    Blogs:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Posts:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    859
    Also, if you delete your most recent shout, the previous one doesn't become your status on your profile...
     
  3. Mark CM

    Mark CM Veteran

    Blogs:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Posts:
    1,469
    Likes Received:
    508
    Yes, I actually just noticed this, too! Will report and get back to you.
     
  4. djfly

    djfly Smiter of Spam

    Blogs:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Posts:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    859
    Any update on this?

    There's another issue, I just did a shout, and it appears on my profile:
    Clipboard02.png

    But it doesn't appear on the main page.
    Clipboard01.png

    I've re-tested it a few times and it never seems to appear on the main page even though that's where I shouted it from... Refresh, over and over... either something is being cached in a really weird way, or there's a bug in here somewhere...

    To be honest, I've seen weird caching issues elsewhere, too... like a flicker of a "not authorized" window before an AJAX call seems to re-authenticate... but this issue with shouts is the most annoying.
     
  5. Mark CM

    Mark CM Veteran

    Blogs:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Posts:
    1,469
    Likes Received:
    508
  6. Mark CM

    Mark CM Veteran

    Blogs:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Posts:
    1,469
    Likes Received:
    508
    I'm seeing your shout on the main page.
     
  7. djfly

    djfly Smiter of Spam

    Blogs:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Posts:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    859
    As I said, "weird caching thing"... it eventually DOES show up... it just seems strange that it doesn't always show up immediately.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. djfly

    djfly Smiter of Spam

    Blogs:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Posts:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    859
    And the other part, where shouts and statuses are "tied together"... Any update there?

    (It seems that though there are slight changes week-to-week, there really hasn't been much attention given to the suggestions/issues... or, if there has been attention, there have been no updates on the threads so we have no way to know what has been done...)
     
  9. SadikB

    SadikB Newbie

    Blogs:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Posts:
    89
    Likes Received:
    46
    I have removed caching from the shouts. The statuses also "become" shouts. And rest assured every suggestion is looked into. If something is not being done, it may be because at that point we may not have resources available for the work. Things may be slow but they are not stagnant... :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. djfly

    djfly Smiter of Spam

    Blogs:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Posts:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    859
    Thanks @SadikB

    Any chance you add a little note to the suggestion threads indicating what was done (when a suggestion is actually worked on) so users are aware of changes, and so I don't report "issues" that are intentional changes? :)
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2016

Share This Page